Na Naa NaNaNaNaa, Katamari Damashiiiiiiiii~

10 Aug

So, I had to temporarily kick Charles & Renfield to the curb (sorry boys) to get this done instead.

This is a katamari (i.e., Katamari Damacy, or, We <3 Katamari) poster for an exhibit at Floating World Comics in Portland, Oregon. I basically crashed this exhibit after hearing professorboyfriend mention it and being “OMG I WANNA BE IN IT I WANNA BE IIIIIN IT.” Mature of me, I know.

(If you’ve never heard of Katamari before, a) you must be living under a rock, and b) you should watch this video here to get an idea of how spectacular this game is. basically you’re a little alien(?) creature(?) person(?) and you have this ball called the katamari, and you roll it around and stuff sticks to it, and your goal is to roll up as much stuff as possible, so you have a really biiig katamari.)

So anyway, my favorite level in We <3 Katamari is actually the sweets level, so I decided to stick with that and draw a sweets katamari. I went with strawberry cousin Ichigo as the character, although cousin Honey is the one you actually get in the sweets level — but I figured Ichigo was more readily recognizable.

This is the rough draft. I used lots of different colored pencils so I could have overlapping lineart without getting confused.

Drawing the katamari was initially a little daunting. I wasn’t sure if I should go with realistic depictions of sweets or if I should copy the videogame versions directly. I decided to bring up the “collection” section of the game and look at the “snacks” sections for ideas. What ended up happening was that I noticed the katamari versions were all based on a very geometric shape, so I kept that for many of the sweets but also improvised some non-geometric sweets and added things like drippy icing and chocolate.

I gave Ichigo the Giraffe Hat because it’s my favorite Royal Present in the game. :3

King Cosmos got moved around a bit. I initially had him doing some kind of leap over the sky but it looked weird. Then I tried him up close in the upper-right-hand corner but drawing him at giant-size seemed to detract from the katamari. So he ended up sipping some tea in the upper-left.

The final version, scanned on one of SVA's 11 x 17 scanners and colored in PS.

A few things I would have liked to have changed; I would have liked to have added some cel-shading here, and possibly something (planets in the universe? the katamari logo?) in the upper-right, but I was sooo pressed for time (this was done over two days, maybe 15 hours tops) that I just barely slid in under the deadline.

Anyway, Floating World Comics has said they’ll put the poster in the exhibit, so hurraaaay!

I’ll try to be back at my vampire boys soon. <3 I’d like to get that book done sooooon. But I also don’t want to rush it.

Leave a Reply

