Charles & Renfield Minicomic – 10 Days Left

26 Jul

Hey kittens,

So I’m starting this blog, which is kind of awkward because EVERYONE has a blog and I feel like I’m jumping on the bandwagon about five years too late. That’s okay tho. Tbh, the reason for the blog is because I’m working on so much in-progress stuff right now, and I wanna show it, but I don’t really have a good outlet for that. DeviantART shuffles it into scraps, Facebook resizes my images, and I hate tinkering with my website…plus I’d like to chronologically document my struggle to finish anything ever, because watching me flounder helplessly in the face of deadlines is always comical.

So anyway, when professorboyfriend told me we were going to P.A.C.C., I was like, “…maybe I should draw a new little minicomic thing for this show.” So I recently (after quitting my job) have undertaken a very small, black-and-white, probably 12 – 16 page minicomic that’s storybook style (i.e. less multiple panels per page, more like illustrations with captions). It’s about creepy undead superstars Charlemagne and Renfield, basically telling some little facts about them and what their deal is. Because I want to do more with these two characters, but I’m not sure what exactly yet. So I thought I would just put the characters out there for now and see how they’re received.

Anyway, you don’t really care about that. You just want to see boys making out. It’s ok, I understand.

Brownie points if you can guess which gay-as-shit summer blockbuster they're watching. (hint: it's out now)

So my favorite page so far is this one [above], which of course means I’m going to butcher it tragically when I go to ink it. The character on the left is Hayden, who is basically Charlemagne’s second-in-command after Renfield.

Finished(?) Inks for Page One

The only thing I’ve finished* inking so far is page one, which is just the two of them (background intentionally white). I say “finished*” because, while I love my skinny skinny needle-thin rapidographs oh-so-much, I’m disappointed to find they scan badly — something about the way they dig into the page makes the glaring light of the scanner reflect badly off the lineart, and betrays all the tiny thin lines I drew over and over to make thick lines. Hmm. So I may go over this again, quickly, with a nib. Also, Charles’ leg is lumpy in a weird way and it’s bothering me.

Pencils for the back cover

The back cover will be a reflection on page one, despite the fact that page one is inside the book. I think. I’m not sure. I’m toying with cover ideas and if I get pressed for time – and who am I kidding, I’m ALWAYS pressed for time – then page one may magically become the cover.

I’m sorry, that was entirely TMI. You don’t want a novel, you just want sexy pictures. Okay. I’ll go draw some more.

xoxo
Kiki

self-imposed deadline in 10 days. leee-eee-eeeave mee-eee-eee a c-c-c-comment pleee-eee-eeease! thnx.

4 Responses to “Charles & Renfield Minicomic – 10 Days Left”

  1. BBCAKES July 26, 2010 at 9:49 PM #

    HAY BB I like your blog :)
    I am RSSing it so I can see all your sketches <33333

    • twelfthgecko July 26, 2010 at 11:54 PM #

      LOL THANKS BBCAKES <333

  2. kim July 27, 2010 at 4:31 AM #

    omg. loove it. (: ill be checking this constantly.

    and, i absolutely adore renfield in the movie sketch (:

    • twelfthgecko July 28, 2010 at 2:39 AM #

      Thank you thank you! :D <3

Leave a Reply

